Tell A Friend

Is there something on this page that interests you? Perhaps you have a friend or friends who might like to see it as well. If you do click the 'Email Page' link below and fill in the form that pops up.
You are here: Other > Chakra Guide

Chakra means wheel of light in Sanskrit.

The Chakras are the seven power points in the human body that circulate energy or the life force also known as prana. They are vertically aligned in the center of the body close to the spine.

Through our Chakras, we transmit and receive physical, emotional, and spiritual energy; the chakras are manifested in one's physical state. The ideal is to have all chakra centers clear, balanced, and vitalized for optimal well-being.  If the Chakra are unbalanced - not properly aligned or blocked - it can affect physical and mental health. The spiritual development is also connected with the good health of the Chakra.


Aura colors surrounding the body

Each chakra is associated with a particular area of the body and a color of the spectrum. The aura, which is an electromagnetic field that surrounds the body, can indicate the body health, mental health and spiritual health of an individual. Clear and bright colors indicate good health. Muddy and dark colors indicate an unhealthy or negative state.

The idea of the aura surrounding the body is common in most spiritual traditions. It is a recurrent theme in religious art of the early Greeks and Romans, along with Buddhists and Christians, all show a halo also called a nimbus or aureole.

Stones are used at chakra centers for clearing, revitalizing, and healing. Crystal wands are utilized to open the chakras. Generally, the selection of stones corresponds with the associated color of the chakra.


Chakra Stones

As you become familiar with stones, meditation, healing work, and the energies within and around you, you will begin to incorporate your awareness into different aspects of your life and consciousness. Studying and working with the chakra system will help you become aware of the powerful life force energy that exists within our bodies, minds, our environment, and ultimately the physical and divine universe.

Below is a brief listing of stones and their use with the chakra system to get you started.








1st Chakra
Base, Root
Located at the base of the spine

Red, black

Stability, grounding, physical energy, will, security.

Black Obsidian
Black Tourmaline
Red Zincite
Smoky Quartz

2nd Chakra
Located below the navel

Orange, Blue-green

Creativity, healing, sexuality and reproduction, desire, emotion, intuition.

Orange Calcite
Blue-green Turquoise
Blue-green Fluorite


3rd Chakra
Solar Plexus
Located at solar plexus, below breastbone


Intellect, ambition, personal power, protective.

Yellow Jasper
Golden Calcite


4th Chakra
Located in the center of the chest

Pink, Green

Love, compassion, universal consciousness, emotional balance.

Rose Quartz
Pink/Rubellite Tourmaline
Watermelon Tourmaline
Green Aventurine


5th Chakra
Located at the neck above collar bone


Communication center, expression, divine guidance.

Blue Calcite
Blue Kyanite
Blue Turquoise


6th Chakra
Third eye
Location centered above eyebrows, at medulla


Spiritual awareness, psychic power, intuition, light.

Lapis Lazuli


7th Chakra
Located at the top of the head

Violet, Golden-white

Enlightenment, cosmic consciousness, energy, perfection.

White Calcite
White Topaz